top of page

September 2016


Every year I enter the Adult Fairy Story Competition run by Writing Magazine, and have been shortlisted once or twice. It's a great genre - so much fun to write! I now have nearly enough to publish a collection. I entered a story today which I'd completely forgotten about called High Jinks at the Thomas's. In fact, I had just finished another adult fairy story which will have to wait until next year's competition. There's nothing like being ahead of the game!

Update: My story did not get chosen :(

 

With a deadline of 5th December, Mslexia is requesting submissions on the theme of 'Guilty'. I had several pieces which seemed to fit the brief, but I settled on a poem called 'The Ferryman' and a short story called 'Split Decision'. Those chosen will feature in Issue 73 in March.

 

I had heard of The Moth poetry magazine, but until recently, I had no idea that The Caterpillar also exists. It is a wonderful magazine for children featuring short stories, poetry and art. I submitted six children's poems to them.

Update: The poems I sent were not quite the right fit, but they asked for more. News of that second submission in a later post!

 

I was lucky enough to win September's One Word Challenge, a monthly competition run by Writing Magazine's Writers' Talkback. The theme was 'Balance' and my poem, 'Attendance' can be read on the Poetry tab of this website (in the 'Tasters' section).

Recent Posts
Search By Tags

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page