top of page

May 2017

Last year, I had a go at playwriting. I submitted a short to Pint-Sized Plays, and was delighted when I was longlisted and then shortlisted. The idea is to come up with something which can be performed in a pub, using a minimum of props, and with no more than 3 characters. It should have a running time of about 10 minutes. The finalists' plays get performed and then an outright winner is chosen.

This year, I thought I'd have another go. I submitted a play at the beginning of the month, but by the end of the month, having thought about the content, I decided that I wasn't happy with it. With one day until the closing date, I wrote another. The judging is anonymous, so I can't reveal the titles. I will let you know how I get on...

Cheers!

 

Writing for Visual Verse has become something of a compulsion for me.

At the beginning of the month a photo prompt appeared. I did come up with something, but in retrospect I wish I had played with the format a bit more and gone with shorter lines.

Here's my piece: Facing It

Imagine an image here with lots of graffiti behind a paint-smeared armchair. The overriding colour is blue.

The original image image is by Alejandro Alvarez

 

When I was teaching, I remember reading the fabulous book The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken to the children. This year, her daughter, Lizza, along with A.M. Heath are launching The Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize, so I have entered The Secret of Pooks Wood.

When twins Lily and Ollie are stranded at Great Hawkesden Manor over Christmas with their mother Stella, they have no idea what will happen when they find an old glass snow globe.Inside it not only is there a miniature model of the manor house, but there is magic.

A time-shift adventure for readers of 9-12

 

I recently wrote a futuristic story - not my usual genre - and have subbed it to Bare Fiction.

It's called Dark Harvest.

There is a submission period, and the deadline is 5th June.

Bare Fiction publishes poetry, fiction and theatre, and also runs writing competitions. Entries for the Bare Fiction Prize can be submitted until 31st October and the categories are: Poetry, Flash and Short Stories.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page