top of page

November's Submission and Publication opportunities

Have you noticed that you can save posts on Facebook? I now have quite a stash of writing-related opportunities stored in my sidebar. When I need a bit of inspiration, I scroll through and decide if there's anything of interest. Of course, everything comes with an expiry date - which is fine. I just delete the post if I've missed the deadline. It's useful to join writing groups as that's where the information tends to be shared.

It was through Facebook that I saw the Mail on Sunday's 100-word competition. It took me a few days to come up with something new (as is usual, submissions had to be previously unpublished), but I did it. It's never wasted energy to come up with a piece. There are many opportunities to submit flash - Reflex Fiction, Thresholds, CafeLit, for example, plus if you have enough pieces, you can always self-publish. My collection Minor Discord has a mixture of some forty short stories and flash fiction.

Mslexia has called for submissions (by women) on the theme of 'Bewitched'. The closing date is 4th December. They are open to short stories (2200 words), poetry (40 lines) and scripts (1000 words). I entered a story and a poem.

If you write poetry, Nine Arches Press has a submission window for the month of November for a collection. You can submit twenty poems - which is what I did. You can submit to their magazine, Under the Radar through the month of December.

Popshot is a fabulous literary publication which showcases beautifully-illustrated poetry (between 12 and 40 lines), flash (300 to 1000 words) and short stories (1000 to 2500 words), plus drabbles of exactly 100 words are welcome. I had a poem published by them for their 'Future' issue called 'To the unborn' which you can read here. They are currently seeking submissions for the Romance issue. I subbed a story. If you hold the rights, then they are open to previously published work.

November's not over yet. Let's see what else comes up!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page