top of page

Jumping into January


After a very quiet December (no Writing News post... shhh!) and a fairly quiet 2017, I started 2018 with a spurt of writing energy!

I have mentioned Visual Verse (@visual_verse ‏ ) previously. I always feel proud to have poetry and short stories featured on their website. Have a look. It is so elegant and well-presented, and you are always among a host of fabulous writers. Visit the archive and you might be able to spot a few famous names there. January's photo prompt was another interesting one - a cloud of bright blue smoke engulfing someone; all you can see is a fist punching through. In the allotted hour, I came up with a poem entitled 'Swallowed'. You can also read it on my Poetry page. (Just be patient as it takes a few seconds to load!)

This is not the image from the VV website, but it's similar. The image prompt was of blue smoke.

 

This year I am determined to make more effort to get my latest children's book in front of professional eyes. I heard on the grapevine that the publisher Stripes (part of Little Tiger Press) is currently on the lookout for some new material. I subbed - and will now wait patiently for news.

 

I have twice been published in The Caterpillar, a fairly new, but already prestigious publication for children. The Caterpillar Poetry Prize is up for grabs until 31st March. There is also a short story prize. I subbed a new humorous children's poem of mine.

 

Another fabulous literary publication is Popshot. Again, I have been published by them. For each edition, there is a theme. I am still waiting to hear back about the 'Romance' edition I subbed in November, but this month the theme is 'Truth'. Writers are invited to sub up to four pieces which can include poetry, flash and short stories. I subbed one of each.

 

I subscribe to Writing Magazine and take part in the online forum. As part of this, I get 'Writers Online' - a great way of getting news about forthcoming competitions and submission opportunities. I happened to come across a request from Kickback Media. They are seeking a new children's writer and are holding a competition for this. The brief is to write up to 2000 words where a child protagonist moves from the real world to an imagined one. They must meet some sort of magical creature and there should be two instances of dialogue. It is not a complete story they are looking for; it is more that they want to see a passage had they randomly opened a book. The closing date is 23rd February. I had something up my sleeve - an idea for a new book which had been brewing for a few years served as a basis for my submission.

 

As a writer, do you make the most of Facebook? You can join various writers' groups - another way of discovering what is going on in the world of writing. A request was made in one of the groups I am in - 'Children's Authors' for authors interested in writing text for Key Stage 2 SATs papers. There are many features to be included in a written piece to test the children's ability to use inference, for example. The publishers wanted examples sent to them so I sent a short story of mine.

 

And, finally, I subbed a children's book to the agent Sallyanne Sweeney at MMB Creative. She is on the lookout for 'laugh-out loud, hilarious MG fiction', so if you have something to fit the bill, it might be worth contacting her.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page