top of page

Writing Wrapped up for Winter

In November, it was my privilege to judge a short story competition run by Erewash Writers.

A bundle of shortlisted entries made its way to me and I spent many a happy hour reading through the batch of stories. They were all different in style - i.e. the 'writer's voice' - and content. There's a lot to think about when judging - originality and enjoyment, of course, but also the handling of dialogue, language choice and the dreaded competence of using grammar and punctuation, which can mar a story if mistakes are too frequent or obvious. Fortunately, I was able to select several for the hotspot, first, second and third, as well as highly commended. You can read more about what I was looking for here.

 

In November, I made another website to showcase my published poetry. I called it Conjuring Marble into Cloud, a line taken from one of the poems.

Conjuring Marble into Cloud

I have left comment boxes at the foot of the pages and have had some lovely feedback.

 

You meet all sorts of people via Twitter. Most of those I follow and who follow me are #writers. Matt Kendrick (@MkenWrites) is one of them.

A while back, Matt contacted me to tell me he had discovered my poetry and had enjoyed it. He asked if he could feature it/me on his blog, Prattlefog and Gravelrap.

It was introduced on Twitter thus:

'Each 1st Monday of the month in 2019, I'll be doing a showcase blog of fantastic short fiction I've come across. This month's post is entitled 'Life, Death & Everything in Between' and is full of links to beautiful, experimental & thought-provoking work.' There are some real gems featured by writers who I hadn't before come across.

There are some wonderful writers featured on it.

 

I was delighted, too, in January to have a piece featured in The Cabinet of Heed, a literary journal which, again, showcases lots of talent. I was honoured to be in such company. My offering was called The Artist and is in Issue Sixteen.

 

January saw the start of a new addiction... writing addiction, that is! I discovered a hashtag on Twitter called #vss365 (vss stands for 'very short story'). Each day a prompt word is provided and it seems that countless writers are on board. I was accumulating so many Tiny Twitter Tales that I decided to add a page to this website. It's a great way to get the creative juices flowing each day!

By the way, you can follow me @helen_laycock

 

And as a little addendum, I was thrilled to find myself longlisted by the prestigious Mslexia in their flash fiction competition.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page